Winnebago County Logo

Building Division

The Building Division's mission for all Winnebago County residents is to insure your health, safety and welfare in buildings you live in, work in, and visit.

**You can now request an inspection online, by clicking the link, "Inspection Request Form" and completing the form **

        (Please be advised that an inspector will confirm the date and time of the inspection requested)

  1. Click to download the document
  2. Once it opens, click to "Enable Content"
  3. Complete form
  4. "Click to Submit" button at bottom of document to submit

County Code regarding building and building regulation

County Code on fire prevention

Winnebago County Building Division services the following communities:

Building Service Area MAP

  • Cherry Valley (Village of)
  • Durand (Village of)
  • New Milford (Village of)
  • Rockton (Village of)
  • Roscoe (Village of)
  • South Beloit (City of)
  • Unincorporated Winnebago County

As of April 1st, 2016 Winnebago County Building Division follows the below listed Codes...

  • 2015 International Building Code
  • 2015 International Residential Code
  • 2015 International Fire Code
  • 2015 International Fuel Gas Code
  • 2015 International Mechanical Code
  • 2014 National Electric Code
  • 2014 Illinois State Plumbing Code 

Contact Us:

Winnebago County Building Division*
404 Elm Street, Room 403
Rockford, IL  61101
(*located within the Regional Planning and Economic Development Department*)

Phone:  815-319-4350
Fax:  815-319-4351

Hours:  Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
**Permits issued from 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.**



Facebook Twitter