Winnebago County
Winnebago County Seal

CWIC Economic Development Program (Host Fee Fund)

Winnebago County Host Fee-funded grants promote growth-oriented community investment that benefit Winnebago County citizens and improve economic well-being and quality of life in the County. 



On June 23, 2005, the Winnebago County Board approved 2005-CR-125 authorizing the County to enter into a host county agreement to collect fees for certain landfill uses. This revenue source is known as the Host Fee fund. Since that time there have been several landfill operators, but the Host Fee agreement has remained intact as a long standing commitment to County residents.

Host Fees are designated specifically to fund projects that enhance county-wide economic development initiatives. The County has invested millions of dollars that have been collected and reinvested in projects and programs from FY2005 to FY2017.

October 1, 2017 marks a milestone for the Host Fee program, as the Board’s 2017 policy takes effect. County Ordinance 2017-CO-062 adopts a policy that defines the County’s approach to economic development by category and assigns specific value to those categories for budgeting purposes. For the first time, awards are now awarded through a grant application process.

Funding is offered under the County’s four CWIC Economic Development categories:

  1. Capital Development
  2. Workforce Development
  3. Infrastructure
  4. Community Development 

For information, visit the Grant Awards Program page.

Winnebago County
404 Elm Street
Rockford, IL 61101
OFC: (815) 319-4444

Facebook Twitter